Tuesday, May 21, 2024
HomeEbonyi State DiaryIPAC elects 9-member state executive committee in Ebonyi -By Paulinus Ogbonna

IPAC elects 9-member state executive committee in Ebonyi -By Paulinus Ogbonna


The Ebonyi chapter of the Inter Party Advisory Council (IPAC) has elected a nine-member State Executive Committee (SEC) led by Mr Ernest Nwaze of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The election held on Thursday at the Collation Centre of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), State Headquarters, Abakaliki was conducted by the National Executive Committee of IPAC , led by its national chairman , Dr Yusuf Dantele.

Dantele in a brief speech after the election admonished the new leadership of the IPAC in Ebonyi to uphold the basic principle of the council which is deepening democracy in Nigeria.

He urged the new executive to see their election as a call to service stressing that they should collectively work together to achieve the objectives of the council and enjoined them to ensure inclusivity in all they do.

He commended the peaceful and orderly conduct of members before, during and after the election saying that the will of the members prevailed.

Mr Maxwell Ngwude administered the oath of office and charged all the elected officers to abide by the oath which they have sworn to, stressing that there would be consequences for breach of the oath.
Meanwhile, in his acceptance speech, Nwaze who was re-elected for a second time pledged to steer the council to greater heights calling for support and cooperation of the members.

He thanked members for the confidence reposed in him and promised to run open, transparent and credible leadership.

“I want to thank you all for your support and confidence reposed in me which has translated to my re-election and I want to assure you that I will run open, transparent and credible leadership and to promise you that I will lead well.

“I pray for the kind of leadership spirit that the national chairman has; from the first day I met him, he showed me love and leadership which I have learnt and he is a leader par excellence,” he said.

Mr Sunday Nwambam, Special Assistance (SA) to Gov. Francis Nwifuru in a message of congratulations commended the members for conducting a peaceful election.

He urged the leadership to join hands with the state government to develop the state and deepen democracy.

The governor’s aide noted that the current administration has provided an environment for democracy to thrive through credible leadership and described IPAC as critical organ whose inputs and partnership were needed to sustain the existence unity and peace in the state.

He said: “The 2023 elections have come and gone and now we are under one pillar and that one pillar is that we have only one governor and we have to support his administration .

“I also want to congratulate the 17 registered political parties existing in the state which participated in the election; all the 17 members voted according to their conscience and with happiness.”

The SA expressed joy in the emergence of the APC candidate as the chairman of IPAC for a second term in office and urged other political parties to rally around him to succeed in the assignment.

Our correspondent reports that other elected officers include; Mr Samuel Akahite of African Democratic Party (ADP)  (deputy chairman), Mr Godwin Ugwu of Action Alliance (Secretary), Evan Ohakam of the Allied People’s Movement, (deputy secretary).

Others are; Mrs Juliet Nwainyiya of the Zenith Labour Party (Financial Secretary), Joke Godwin of the Labour Party (treasurer), Mr Stanley Ogbodo of the People’s Democratic Party (Organising Secretary).

Meanwhile, Mrs Onyekachi Benson of the Young People’s Party and Rev. Constance Edward of the All People’s Party were returned as Legal Adviser and Publicity Secretary respectively. ENDS//



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments